Equality and diversity mean in the workplace?

Equality and diversity in a workplace mean a handful of things. They’re about treating each member of staff fairly and the same, respecting them for their age, race, gender, cultural background, skills, beliefs, sexual orientation, career experiences and more.

Equality and diversity mean in the workplace?

Equality, Diversity and Discrimination Training CPD Approved

We’ve all heard and used the words ‘equality’ and ‘diversity’ before but what do they actually mean and how do they affect you as an employer or employee?

Well if you take the words on their own they are actually quite different, equality is the state of being equal, especially in rights and opportunities.

Diversity is the state of being different or varied.

However these 2 things should not be seen as opposite to each other, after all people can be different but they still have the same rights.

When it comes to places of work there is legislation in place to ensure that we all meet our responsibilities in relation to equality and diversity… And one way to make sure we meet these responsibilities is through training.

Course Covers

What is Equality & Diversity Equality and Diversity


What do we Mean by Discrimination

Promoting Diversity

Links Between Values,

Attitudes and Beliefs Stereotypes,

Prejudices and Discrimination Institutional Discrimination

Valuing Others

Resistance to Feedback

Course Summary

Pass Rate Required 70%

Get YOUR Equality Diversity Training Here

Equality in the workplace is concerned with breaking down the barriers that currently block opportunities for certain groups of people.

It aims to identify and minimise the barriers that exclude people and to take action to achieve equal access to all aspects of work for everyone.

Diversity is about recognising, valuing and taking account of people’s different backgrounds, knowledge, skills, and experiences,

and using those differences to create a productive and effective workforce.

It’s important to take account of diversity and involve people when assessing risk and managing health and safety.

The Equality Act 2010 identifies nine ‘protected characteristics’ which are:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

Share this post